The Center for Social Research (CSR) engages in interdisciplinary and collaborative social science research. Founded in 1982, the CSR is one of the centers for social science investigations housed in the Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice at the University of Arkansas.

Our mission is to address complex social issues by:

  • Stimulating and supporting interdisciplinary collaborations.

  • Outreaching with national, state, and regional offices, agencies, and organizations.

  • Pursuing, supporting, and conducting sponsored research.

  • Acquiring and storing quantitative and qualitative datasets, software, and equipment.

  • Equipping students with real-world research experiences and capacities.

  • Collaborating with and supporting the existing efforts of the premier research conducted by the Community and Family Institute (CFI) and the Terrorism Research Center (TRC).

Contact the directors for more information:

Casey Harris          caseyh@uark.edu

Shaun Thomas       shaun@uark.edu



Dept. Affiliates (alphabetical):

  • Douglas Adams

  • Justin Barnum

  • Mindy Bradley

  • Juan Bustamante

  • Brandon Crawford

  • Grant Drawve

  • Rod Engen

  • Brittany Hearne

  • Lori Holyfield

  • Brandon Jackson

  • Shauna Morimoto

  • Lauren Sabon

  • Shaun Thomas

  • Steven Worden

  • Song Yang

Interdisciplinary Social Research Affiliates (ISRAs):

  • Angela Oxford, Center for Community Engagement

  • Anne O'Leary-Kelly, Management, WCOB

  • April Rand, Magdalene House

  • Johanna Thomas, Social Work, ARSC

  • Joseph Herzog, Physics, ARSC

  • Patricia Snell Herzog, IUPUI Lilly School of Philanthropy

  • Kenda Shea Grover, Adult & Lifelong Learning, COEHP

  • Kevin Brady, Curriculum & Instruction, COEHP

  • Kristen Jozkowski, Community and Health, HPER

  • Lindsey Aloia, Communication, ARSC

  • Melody Herr, Scholarly Communications, MULN

  • Noah Billig, Architecture, WALK

  • Shane Barker, Fulbright Advising, ARSC

  • Scott Osborn, Biological Engineering, ENGR

  • Yvette Murphy-Erby, Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion

  • Zola Moon, Rural Sociology, AFLS

Graduate Students (and featured projects):

  • Tasmiah Amreen (ELS)

  • Abigale Rongey (Immigration and Media)

  • Hannah Steinman (Built Environment and Crime)

Center for Social Research

University of Arkansas

  • Grey Blogger Icon
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • LinkedIn Clean Grey

© 2018 Center for Social Research - University of Arkansas